The Beautiful Moth

On pleasant nights like this moths come out and start to play with the lights. Many people find them to be ever so annoying but, they are completely harmless as a creature could be.   I see people shoo away so many moths like they are disease-laden mosquitoes trying to bite them but, when they land on me I admire the beauty that they have for moths are so delicate creatures.

Atlas Moth

When I compare Butterflies and Moths I just look at them nighttime butterflies and butterflies to be daytime Moths.  Moths do not carry disease such as rabies, they do not bite, and they do not sting so, what makes people so afraid of a harmless night time creature?  Everyone can admire butterflies for their beauty and variety of butterflies but, only a few people ever stop to admire the beauty and variety of moths.  “Beauty?” what does the world define beauty in nature? I can say everything I’ve seen has its own form of beauty whether its hazardous to my health or not.  Like moths some think of moth as merely a lackluster cousin of the beautiful butterfly, however, both are given the same scientific classification.

There is a book on bugs and what I found out was there are 150,000 to 200,000 species of Lepidoptera only 10 percent are butterflies but, the rest are moths.  Like many other people, I hardly thought of moths except when putting away my winter clothes and placing mothballs around them in an attempt to repel the clothes moth. I did not know that as adults, moths do not eat fabric at all—they only do so while in the larval stage as caterpillars.

What changed my outlook toward moths? my outlook on Moths came when I discovered on during a summers night when I began to have a real passion for butterflies because I would always draw butterflies.  Then that pleasant summers night came and I saw a unique type of moth, it was a robin moth something that I never saw or probably even notice when I was younger.  Their appearance to me was so striking that I learned to look at moths differently than other people would.  I notice it had two eyes but, it probably was about 2 thousand eyes made to look like one whole eye and, it was claim in dealing with me because it did not see me as a threat.

That night when I was a lowly preteen girl going through some drama, noticing

Robin Moth

a moth that was beautiful started my own little adventure of finding insects and animals because uniqueness was beginning to take over my mind but, to share it with someone at the ages 10, 11, and 12 who did not understand was not even worth the time for everyone else was following celebrities I was not.   I was following nature and animals.

I wonder at times looking back and not following the trends there are no regrets instead of trying to share my interests with some whom were not interested in the same things that I was.  In addition I due wonder will I ever find love in my life because I have not found that someone that finds my interest to be interesting rather than creepy or taking interest because they want to impress and make me happy.   My last relationship was disastrous because the person did not really love me as he claimed but, only kept me in a relationship because he figured he can make it work even though he belittle my interests and insisted on doing things his way.  I left him in the dark because I never contacted him again nor continue to pass words with him.

I still attract men of all kinds but, I do not see anything in them that says “hey, I love nature and animals more than anything else in the world. I wish to find one that shares the same interests.”

It does seem rather sad that I am looking my life as this because I am not really political on the basis of being conservative or liberal, I do have a great interest in the world around me, I do have a dream that I can have children to share my passion with.   I just do not see my forever partner sharing the same interest or even similar interest.

Polyphemus moth

When I go out on nights such as tonight, I do not see just one moth I see a whole mess of them and they are happy together.  I would like to be in that category somewhere but, I do not see where I can go in order to make that happen because being true to myself is the best policy for, I do not want to come off as fake which turns people off.   I know tonight as I post this blog and look out on the patio to see there are a swarm of lovely moths waiting to be seen.

I don’t know who knows maybe one day when I am a little older probably around in my early to mid 30s I will have that someone special in my life but, for now I am going to focus on myself and being true about who I really am because there is no point in being fake to make someone happy, I learned that watching not only the mating rituals of moths and butterflies but, other creatures as well so maybe I can find someone not at the moment.

Luna Moth

Leave a Reply

